Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two opposing views on the effect of doing more exercise on students’ learning performance. Some people claim that having more physical activities could improve teenagers learning results, whereas others assert it can cause more adverse effects. On the one hand, having an extra curriculum helps students have better concentration on academic subjects. Our brains sometimes would get bored when we keep doing the same things without changes, therefore, some different programs can draw our attention back on track, resulting in more effective learning of things that are not very interesting for youngsters. Moreover, exercising maintains teenagers’ fitness, which allows them in a healthy condition to conquer challenges in their schools. On the other hand, competitive exercises can also cause more pressure on some students who might have no interest in doing sports. These students are forced to face these competitions without pleasure, resulting in more burden on their school’s hours. What’s worse is they might be more overwhelmed because of a lack of time for their studies and more unwilling sports practices. In conclusion, regular physical exercise can lead to better health conditions for young people, eventually getting better learning outcomes. However, if teachers put these sports programs in a competitive way, it could harm some students’ learning results because of higher pressure. Therefore, in my view, encouraging youngsters to attend sports programs regularly for interest and pleasure, rather than forcing them to compete with others, can be a balanced way to help their learning performance.