In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

These days, public debate has been going on in some countries over whether youngsters should be encouraged to have a gap year in order to do something that they would like to before they continue to have further education. From my perspective, I completely agree that counties should encourage people to have a gap year. I will analyse both sides of their thoughts in detail in the following essay. Some folk tend to think that students would be able to have better performance in communicating with other students and professors if they use the gap year to work. As far as I am concerned, this perspective may be based on the consideration that working in the gap year could enable students to obtain experience regarding how to communicate with others. It is reasonable due to the fact that most jobs in our society now require employees to collaborate together. As a result, people working in a team must have excellent cooperating skills. Another argument that can be used to support their belief is that travelling in the gap year could broaden students ' horizons. Therefore, after they return to universities, travelling experiences would let them focus on the knowledge that is essential for them. On the other side of the debate though, many individuals argue that gap year may have a negative effect on students. Firstly, students may copy some kinds of negative behaviours in society regarding smoking, alcohol and so on, which will damage their health. Moreover, some may abandon opportunities with further education after they find that they can earn money and buy anything they desire. However, compared with the disadvantages of a gap year, its advantages outweigh the drawbacks. In conclusion, young people should take advantage of a gap year to work or travel in order to study passionately after back to school.