In some country, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out the history of the house and building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays, the history of people ’s habitation is gaining more interest from the population since many technical or environmental issues has been discovered. In this essay, I will try to discuss the reason for doing investigation about the living space and then explain the methods that people often use to find accurate information. People are interested on the historical documentation of the living spaces for many reasons. It is obvious that the stability, security and the sustainability of any space are related to its past condition. Furthermore, the understanding of any defect or incoherences on the construction process of a building may lead to take urgent countermeasure to correct and anticipate on eventual deterioration. For instance, in Senegal the court which was constructed on a fault zone due to the lack of knowledge of the geological condition has been immediately demolished. In order to get reliable information about the historical condition of the infrastructures, people usually appeal to governmental services. In addition, due to the availability of data on internet, people also use online platform as a source of information. Another crucial source of information would be probably university thesis or research conducted by student since they may contain a number of essential knowledges. In conclusion, people are becoming more conscious about the technical background of their houses and the surrounding environment. This staggering curiosity is mostly motivated by the need in terms of safety and healthy condition. In order to get suitable information, public services such as city office or governmental agencies are generally contacted.