Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the competition in sugary drink markets is obviously increasing, and the prices of the products are also reasonable. Some people agree that cheaper cost is the decisive factor in the enormous consumption of sugary drinks, therefore the prices should be risen to encourage customers to consume fewer sugar. Personally, I disagree with this statement, I believe that health education and awareness, as well as, healthy substitute sweeteners should be emphasised to make people have less sugar in their diet or choose wisely when they crave sweet drinks. Health education should be taught more to encourage people to have a high awareness of their health. They intake an immense amount of carbohydrates in each meal due to lacking comprehensive knowledge and medical concerns. If they learn that high blood glucose can lead to life-threatening problems, disabilities and death such as stroke, heart attack, and leg amputation from Diabetic Mellitus (DM), they may continuously control their carbohydrate eating behaviours, and unhealthy sweetened drinks may be less consumed eventually while the prices are not justified. People should be encouraged more to ingest food that uses healthier sugar substitutes. A prime example of these alternatives is stevia which is a sugary plant and is free of calories and sugar. These sweet leaves are suitable for those who control weight and blood glucose levels. While the costs of sugary drinkable goods stay reasonable, alternative sweetened drinks, instead of typical ones, could become wise choices for anyone who loves sweetness but prefers to be healthy. In conclusion, the consumption of high carbs diet can lead to major diseases, disabilities and death. I strongly believe that health education and awareness as well as the availability of healthy substitute sweeteners would be the key priorities to make people concern more of their health, which could help them decrease or wisely choose their sugar intake while they still can reasonably afford sugary products.