Some people argued that history is of little or no use. Others believe that studying history give many benefits. Discuss those views and give your own opinion?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate whether absorbing history is necessary for citizens. While some claim that absorbing the historical insights plays an imperative role in daily life, others make a statement that history is not useful. From my viewpoint, the latter is valid to some extent, meanwhile, I consider myself an advocate of the former. Without a shadow of doubt, looking back at the amazing fellow countrymen is a way to understand their own identity. Furthermore, history teaches students about how great institutions are formed and how they contribute to where we are today. For example, when I was studying about Uncle Ho, Vietnam's greatest man, I was inspired by patriotism because he made significant contributions to the country's development by defeating France and America in order to restore the country's liberation. As a result, the rich history enables students to learn about their country's identity. While the benefits of studying history are widely acknowledged, the drawbacks still linger. People believe that the present and future time periods are more important than the past years. As a result, knowing a lot about the current situation and the coming years will be more beneficial than studying the past. For example, Vietnamese students in almost all high schools are more interested in discovering advanced technological devices than in discovering ancient inventions from the previous century. As a result, learning from the past is ineffective in certain aspects. To sum up, although there are both pros and cons when studying history, the significance of it is still outweigh the counterpart and it should be maintained.