Some people believe that all students should be required to study a foreign language in school. Others feel that it is not necessary and that students should have the freedom to choose whether or not to study a foreign language. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Disagreements on whether students should be studying a foreign language in educational institutions has remained controversial. Some people say it is a crucial subject because it provides more opportunities in the future, while others think students should be independent to select what they want to learn. Although, in my opinion, the latter option gives them more freedom, having a foreign language course in schools’ curricula is still necessary. A foreign language, such as English, has been evidenced as an essential subject for all students in every school. Because English is an official language globally, the ability to competently utilize it expands more opportunities in future careers where competition is climbing in recent times. The hire rate of individuals who have the ability to communicate in English in Thailand, for instance, is higher than the others who barely keep enhancing their proficiency. This showcases that foreign language -educated students will certainly acquire utmost advantages from their schools. However, it is said that students should be supported to study independently without being constrained in learning subjects they are not interested in, like a foreign language. Instead, they should be encouraged to explore more about themselves, and schools can evaluate what to provide to them from that. For example, one of my high school friends had never seriously studied a foreign language classe classes, but she was ah high achiever in mathematics and science. As a result, it led her to become a superior engineer. From my perspective, a foreign language does not only offer a chance to obtain a highly competitive job, but it also broadens the students ' communities as there are higher circumstances where they might encounter and must communicate with immigrants who are present within various communities can be found a lot nowadays. Overall, sparing the knowledge and capability to use a foreign language provided by schools is compulsory for students, and the freedom to choose whether to study a foreign language or not should not be an option.