Some countries have legal ages at which people can drink. Other countries believe not have strict laws is a better policy. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is still controversial if teenagers can drink alcohol or not in many countries. Some countries give a lot of freedom and responsibility to minors so that they should be very careful about their behaviours, while others argue that we have to impose more strong restrictions on them. The aim of this essay is to explore two points of view and elucidate my opinion in the following paragraphs. First of all, in some,nations there are no age limitations to buying alcoholic drinks so anyone can obtain beer or even strong drinks such as whisky or spirits. They assert that everyone should have the freedom to acquire products unless their behaviours are illegal. Thus they want to abolish all kinds of age barriers in order to give rights to minors. This idea is coming from so-called "Utilitarianism" in which people follow the principle "the end justifies the means". In other words, this rule basically premises maximizing everyone's happiness so that justice could be achieved. If we apply this rule to age limitation, there should be no age hurdles in order to make everyone happy. On the other hand, many people agree that young adults are not mature to get drugs, cigarettes and alcoholic drinks. They think teenagers are not independent physically and mentally. For example, still many crimes are committed by those under 19 years old, because they are easily impulsive and it is difficult to control themselves. Besides, if they are allowed to get any drinks, they easily became targets for drug trafficking and prostitution. It is a well-known reality that many little girls are forced to sell themselves against their will in underdeveloped nations. In conclusion, there are pros and cons, if the age limit is needed regarding to alcohol drinking, but I confidently insist that there should be legal guidelines for adolescents so that we can provide secure environments for them and to make our societies safer.