Eating too much sugar is harmful to health. Some people think it is the government’s responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the obesity rate in South Korea has been increasing according to many statistics. The media started talking about what the government's role is to lower people's sugar consumption. Some activists even spoke in public that the national authorities should legislate against the increasing amount of sugar intake in order to handle the situation. There are people who are against the government's intervention, saying that it's a misusing the power of the government. They assert that what kind of foods they will eat should be chosen by themselves. However, it's said by many communities that the individual's responsibility is limited so the government needs to take an action to change the system of society. With the increasing number of fast food chains and the lifestyle of recent decades, it has been unavoidable for the public to have a distance from excessive amounts of sugar. Hence, it's necessary to change society through the government instead of speaking to an individual to take responsibility. Furthermore, some people insisted that the tax on sugar is inevitable to improve the current situation. It is important for citizens to have the right to choose what they want. Meanwhile, it's also the government's role to handle undesirable situations. Hence, the government must choose an indirect way to guide people to good diets. For example, they can charge a sugar tax so people would choose healthier meals instead of sugary ones. By doing so, people will unconsciously decrease sugar consumption. There can be an argument that this tax is for poor people. However, the government can reinvest the tax income to lower the tax rate for healthier meals. In conclusion, the government should take action to change society, instead of letting people choose what they want to eat, not considering the change in society.