In the future, nobody wiil buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people believe that printed newspapers and books will become obsolete in the future because they will be made available online to read free of cost. I beg to differ on this conviction, as I personally believe that physical newspapers and books will always have a special place in our lives that the digital versions fail to replace with. To begin with, not all materials that are available online are free of charge. I do admit that there are a number of websites that allow their users to read their contents without having any money paid for it. However, the free content are limited to a few articles, for instance, online newspapers such as The Hindu, which require a paid subscription to view every articles published or access every premium feature on their online application. Similarly, ebooks that can be purchased online require payment for ownership, unless otherwise which is acquired through illegal means, such as the pirated versions. In addition, some individuals would always prefer the printed newspapers and books for various reasons. Reading through digital screen for a long period of time causes eyestrain especially in the case of avid readers. Moreover, older people and young kids who are primitive are more likely to benefit from the physical versions as they are more familiar with those, also making it easier on their eyes. Furthermore, many people choose to get the printed materials simply because they value the experience of holding a physical book in their hands or are just fond of the smell of woodsy pulp, from which a paper is made from. Also, some people love cherishing the collection of their favourite books by maintaining a little library in their houses. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the statements that printed newspapers and books will be disused in the future. As a matter of fact, the claim that the digitally available materials are free of charge is flawed in itself as every materials come with a price depending on the kind.