Social media is an essential part of young people’s lives nowadays, but its impact is often criticized. What are the advantages and disadvantages of social media in teenagers’ and young adults’ lives?

Nowadays, social networking sites have already become a vital element of the young generation’s lives. Social media is seen as a negative phenomenon by most people. Although stealing their time and addiction to it are the main drawbacks of social media, communication with other parts of the world and educational use of them should not be neglected. Communicating with the world is one of the main benefits of social networking sites. In other words, they are common places to meet new people and exchange ideas with all over the world. The young can learn a great deal from their friends in different parts of the world, such as their culture, their lifestyles, and their languages. This leads to the second advantage that social media can be used as an educational platform where youngsters can acquire various skills as well as languages. For example, I follow several educational channels on Instagram regularly. By doing so, I can improve my language skills. On the other hand, there are obvious drawbacks to using social media as young people become easily exposed to inappropriate content such as aggressive or violent scenes and images. In other words, most of these social networking sites are not censored by officials, which means that anything can be shared. This exposure can damage young people’s behavior in the long run. Another minus side of social media is that the young overuse these websites by spending a great amount of time instead of being responsible for their tasks. This is because they become easily addicted to these websites since they offer provoking content. In conclusion, while social media can be used as an educational and communicational platform, it can put the young at risk of being exposed to some upsetting content as everything is not controlled by the government.