Some people argued that history is of little or no use. Others believe that studying history give many benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the pros of learning history. While some hold a strong view that cramping into historical knowledge brings about a wealth of benefits, the opposite makes a statement that it is not useful to absorb it. Whilst the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, digesting historical insights is tremendously beneficial for humans, especially inspiring their patriotism. On the grounds that when people look back on the heroic actions of their fellow countrymen to gain the freedom that they have today, they are proud of it. For example, Vietnam has 120 wars, especially two wars with the USA and France, so teenagers can understand the sacrifices of people in the past and feel grateful for what they have today. Therefore, it is necessary for historical knowledge to be studied to arouse people’ patriotism. While the redeeming features of history are widely acknowledged, in some caretain aspects, there is no point in learning historical insights. Since a wealth of customs which was common in the past is no longer appropriate in current life. For instance, in the past, women just stayed at home to be homemakers while men went out to be breadwinners. On the other hand, in this day and age, there is a flood of women that are successful such as Hilary Clinton who can run for president like any man. Hence, for the time being, it is not helpful anymore to absorb historical knowledge. In conclusion, it is beneficial for people to cram into historical knowledge. However, history has some customs that are not proper anymore in current life.