Some people think that charity organizations should only help people of their own country. But others believe that these organizations should give aid to people in great need wherever they live. Discuss both views and give your own view.

It is obvious to many observers that charitable activities have wider effects, than merely material aid. The increasing number of projects in the so-called third -world countries has got not only supporters but also vocal critics. They are concerned with the effects such activity has on the countries in question. This essay will discuss both positions. One view on this issue is that the scale of the charities should be limited to the country where they are based. The main reason in favour of this is the connection they have with the region and the knowledge that they have about the local issues. A common criticism of this view focuses on the fact that such a strategy prevents money flows from the rich into poor countries. While I admit this criticism, I still tend towards the position that charities should act locally in terms of their monetary help. At the same time, I believe that they should try to spread knowledge as far as possible An opposite view is that charities should help people who need such help the most. On the positive side, it indeed helps to move poor regions out of poverty. However, these donors often bound grant recipients to strict conditions. Many experts claim that this process continues to spread the relationship of domination between the developed and developing worlds. The example of tensions between non-government organisations (NGOs) and local governments clearly demonstrates this tension. To conclude, this essay has shown that local bonds could help organisations to act more effectively. In terms of equal money distribution, it is also argued in favour of keeping them in the communities where they we produced while spreading the knowledge to the people who could use it.