In many countries today, there is an insufficient respect to old people. What are the reasons for this ? What problems might it brings to the society ?

Showing respect to senior people is rarely seen these days in many nations. In my opinion, this may be caused by a change in living patterns and an independent attitude. Taking this etiquette for granted probably leads to violating the right of senior citizens. There are myriad reasons but the first and foremost reason behind this is that nowadays, the form of living has changed a lot. In the past, people usually used to live in a big family which included some older members. Whereas, in this era, after becoming adults, most individuals tend to prefer separating themselves to live in their own places. As a result, this creates a distance between them and their family, especially their senior family members. A great example of this is the citizen of western countries including the US. Additionally, being independent makes younger feel that they do not need to rely on anybody, so they might think that paying respect to older individuals is not necessary anymore. Personally, I believe that if this culture is disappeared, it will cause a social problem that affects the senior citizen’s rights. in other words, if the younger do not care anything about seniors, they might take advantage of the older. For instance, public transportation normally provides reserved seats for those seniors. If younger individuals do not pay attention to the right, they would take their seats carelessly. Consequently, the older generation can face plenty of difficulties. In conclusion, I would say, showing respect by the younger to the senior has decreased due to changes in the way people live and their freedom attitude. As a result, seniors may live more laboriously compared to the past due to older citizens’ rights ignorance.