PEOPLE WHO GO TO LIVE OTHER COUNTRIES, SHOULD FOLLOW THE CUSTOMS AND TRADITIONAL OF THE NEW COUNTRY. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

In the modern world is a common trend for people to move from their country to a new one for a better future. As each country has its own culture, people have to adapt and respect it, but this doesn't mean that they are forced to follow these customs and traditions. I believe that multi- culture countries are the ones that develop better and are prejudiced-free, so I disagree with the statement above. Every human being has deeply ingrained some customs and traditions from their country that are really difficult to change. If the person starts to follow the new culture and totally forgets the previous one it means that he lost his identity. For many countries it is a way of an efficient integration process, to make migrants and immigrants forget their past. To underpin the previous argument, the following example can be provided. In Greece, a few decades ago, anyone that had kept their previous identity together with the new greek one, was considered a foreigner. Hence, culture is very important and a big part of every person's identity that should not care about anyone except the actual person. In addition, I reckon that forcing people to follow a culture is evidence of a country which doesn't accept diversity. As I see it, diversity is an instrumental factor in the well-being of society. That means that if people are not able to be whomever they want they will never be fully integrated into the new country and feel it as their home. For instance, if a Muslim moves to an orthodox country and is forced to change religion, he would never feel this country as home and it's possible to move out again somewhere that he would be accepted. Thus, except for the emotional purposes, and different cultural acceptance, it's also a sign of a developed country with people living freely. In conclusion, I believe that the customs and traditions of our home countries are the ones that sculpt our personal identity and show the level of development and freedom that a country offers to its citizens.