The number of university students who study a part of their studies abroad is increasing. What are the main advantages and disadvantages?

The number of higher education students who study some modules overseas is significantly raising nowadays. Although many students could be exposed to new cultures, they may struggle financially to afford living expenses abroad for a short time. This essay will approach the advantages and drewbacks of studying in a foreign country. One of the significant advantages is students ' cultural exposure, which might be missing in their countries. Living in new cultures may lead to personality growth, making them open-minded people who respect diversity and cultural differences, which could contribute to enhancing coexistence in some societies. For instance, recent studies show that there was a clear link in a few African countries between the raising number of students who studied abroad and decreasing hatred crimes. In addition, studying abroad may show students how other nations live and think, which might leave a significant influence on them. Thus, studying for a short period overseas might be crucial for some students to immerse themselves in foreign cultures. One disadvantage of studying abroad could be the great deal of money students need to cover living expenses abroad. They may endure a heavy financial burden to make ends meet, especially those who are self-funded. A consequence of this is that they could be distracted by thinking of gaining enough money to fund themselves. Another point to be regarded is that many students might involve in illegal work to make money. Some latest records showed that many students who studied some subjects in Europe last year helped some drug dealers for the sake of money. The high costs required by studying a few modules overseas may be a drawback that cannot be overlooked. To conclude, the recent phenomenon of studying some university courses away from the home country has become popular. Although students may be familiar with new cultures when studying abroad, they have to pay much money to do so.