It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Whether in people's professional lives or personal lives, taking risks is of vital importance. In my opinion, the advantages of risks exceed their disadvantages. Indeed, taking risks has lots of demerits. For one thing, taking risks can bring some loss. Adventure makes people stressed and nervous, which inclines them to make incorrect and irrational decisions and be defeated. As a result, people may suffer from losing money and wasting their time. For another, a failed risk gives rise to psychological burdens. On the condition that individuals encounter failure, they may lose the courage to make conducive attempts both at work and in life in that they are afraid of being confronted with failure again. However, as work and life are concerned, there are huge potential benefits provided that people take a risky action. Firstly, they may attain better work opportunities, if they take an adventure in their professional lives. To be specific, if a person always keeps the status quo in his position, wages and benefits do not change a lot. But when he tries to hone new skills and submit his resume for other jobs, he may earn a better offer. Moreover, they can get higher profits and remuneration. For instance, investment and stock are filled with uncertainty and those who aim at the opportunity and make a risky investment may make a fortune as a result. Besides professional lives, personal lives also can be vibrant and fulfilling on account of the risks they take. For example, extreme sports like bungee jumping, kite surfing and wingsuit flying are quite high-risk exercises. People participate in it to challenge themselves and derive enjoyment. In conclusion, although running risks could bring about some loss and shortcomings, I maintain that its merits outweigh its disadvantages.