In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some customs, it is opined that children can be successful in their life if they are advised to try hard and never give up on their goals. While children can be motivated, they also can have negative mental effects if they fail to achieve their aim. If children are encouraged from a younger age to try hard, they can develop strong-willed minds. To explain further, young children have the ability to learn anything rapidly therefore, they can be trained to become determined people in the future. Another advantage is, they will be focused and dedicated to achieving their career ambitions without giving up. For instance, in China, children are trained extremely hard in sports especially, for the Olympic Games and they succeeded by winning the most medals in the year 2000. However, there are negative effects as well when a child is taught to try hard. One can have the tendency to have only one career goal. If they fail even after making every effort, they can be traumatized mentally eventually leading to low self-esteem. In addition, a child can have a negative impact on their psychological well-being if they work under stressful conditions. For example, Recent studies have shown that the pediatric population have a higher chance of developing depression and other psychological condition due to excessive mental pressure given by their parents. This can have a detrimental effect on their future. To conclude, though there are many advantages when children are advised to try hard to achieve their ambitions, the disadvantages cannot be ignored. Therefore I believe children should not be forced to achieve their goals and parents must support them even in their failures.