Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are differing views on the issue of allocating the governmental budget to expand infrastructures. Despite several,advantages a society may be taken from constructing roads, I would contend that a huge amount of money should be spent on railways for several reasons. Two major reasons for this position along with a drawback of building roads are intended to be discussed in this essay. One major drawback of road construction has been surprising. Den the considerable congestion of vehicles. Spending much more money on building roads, governments would indeed encourage more people to use their own car resulting in an ever-increasing number of vehicles on the roads. In other words, the much more money spent on roads, the more demand for purchasing vehicles would be provided in society which will inevitably lead to traffic jams as can be seen in several megacities. Railways, nevertheless, provide people with enormous benefits. First of all, it is an indisputable fact that one of the most environmentally-friendly means of transport which has been invented thus far is the train. Subway, train and other forms of railway systems have been recognized as the most compatible means of transport with environmental legislation. As a result, this seems an important reason why the government should consider more money on railways. Further and more importantly, though, it is safety and security that railways can bring out for society. Statistics have shown that the number of death and injuries due to road accidents are far more than this rate in railway transportation systems. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that whilst society can reap the benefits of road construction, it is my belief that government should allocate its budget to railways owing to their safety and compatibility with environmental limitations.