Many countries use fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) as the main source of energy. However, in some countries the use of the alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) is encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this development?

Fossil fuels are still used widely in many nations around the world. On the other hand, some countries have shifted to use alternative energies such as wind and solar. In this essay, I will explain both views and the reasons why I fully agree with the energy shift. First, the opponents argue that this practice will harm the country’s finances. People are concerned that this practice is a waste of money and may cause an economic downturn for the nation. For instance, the initial cost of renewable energy power plant construction is significantly higher than fossil. Moreover, those green power plants require a more complex standard of operation and maintenance. Thus, higher quality human resources are required hence increasing the operating costs. On the other hand, the proponents believe that the use of renewable energy is necessary. These power plants emit less carbon and other toxic substances which is an advantage for both the environment and the citizens. As an example, electricity generation from solar or wind produces low to zero emissions which reduces air pollution. Therefore, the people’s health and well-being will also increase due to the better air quality. To sum up, there have been a lot of movements to encourage the use of renewable energies around the world. Some people think that this is beneficial for the environment while others feel that it is a waste of money. I strongly encourage the action to shift to renewable power because it is more advantageous in the long run.