Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

No one can ever deny that public transit systems have always played an integral role in every country. While some individuals maintain that government should allocate money to construct roads, I would contend that building railways are likely to reap more benefits in different aspects. First of all, the railway system promotes the security of passengers, commuting individuals to their destination safely without any trouble. Compared to the road systems in that drivers might encounter incident accidents, railways provide safe trips, and while they can enjoy doing their own daily tasks such as reading the news or chatting on mobile phones, they can feel immune to any accident. As a result, it seems reasonable that government spend money on this kind of system. Other merits of railways relate to their flexibility in construction. In other words, monorails, subways, trains and other forms of railways can be constructed in crowded places, since these might be underground or passes over the roads which cannot be widened or extended due to the existence of buildings or crowded surrounding places of cities. Railways, therefore, contribute significantly to constructing paths to any destination. Roads, nevertheless, have a profound impact on air pollution. As soon as the road is constructed, more vehicles would stream on these roads, which means that there would be upsurged amount of exhaust fumes, leading to air pollution and environmental damage such as acid rain that results from polluted air, as well as soil erosion. Thus that is why government and authorities are inclined to allocate more money to the railway system and public transport systems. In conclusion, although some people advocate road construction, I firmly assert that money should be spent on the railway system.