Some people think that the government should be responsible for crimes prevention, while others believe that it is responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both the sides and give your opinion

While it is often believed that the government ought to be accountable for preventing crimes, there are others who think that people are responsible for protecting themselves. In my opinion, the government has more opportunities to reduce the number of offences. On the one hand, according to some, it is the responsibility of the government to protect citizens from crimes because it can create strict laws, and I agree. In other words, people are afraid of breaking the law if there are deterrents, such as fines, custodial sentences, or punishments. For example, Singapore has really strict laws and that is why it is one of the safest countries in the world. Thus, people do not turn to crime if they know about the consequences of this decision. Furthermore, citizens pay taxes to the government, and they accept that the government will use this to maintain safety. The government can spend taxes to hire more policemen or to establish cameras. On the other hand, some people claim that citizens should be responsible for crime prevention. Firstly, the government cannot control every step. That is to say, people have to know about the basic rules of remaining safe. For instance, they should avoid walking alone at night or lock their door before leaving. If they follow these rules, there are more chances to be safe. Secondly, the government do not have access to private data and what people are doing on the Internet, so when they want to buy something in the online shop, they need to be sure about the security of this shop. To sum up, although people have different views, I think that the government is able to prevent crimes better than citizens and the reason is that it has the money and power to do it.