It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks be greater than benefits to the community and the young adults themselves?

In today's world, some individuals suggest that it should be compulsory for young adults to do a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. This has many advantages and disadvantages and its benefits outweigh its drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss the relevant reasons behind this issue. To begin with, one of the most significant advantages of helping people in the community is that it can increase some abilities in youngsters. In other words, doing such work develops their minds and improves their personalities. Moreover, this helps them to be more responsible for their society and be aware of other people's problems. For example, helping people with movement disabilities can cause an increase in the feeling of satisfaction and helps young adults to develop their mental skills, such as self-confidence and the feeling of being precious. Turning to the other side of the argument, one of the biggest disadvantages of undertaking unpaid work is the feeling of disappointment. To be more accurate, young adults are enthusiastic about working and having a salary, and working without earning money makes them depressed due to the lack of money. Furthermore, youngsters prefer to separate from their parents and have an independent life. If they do not afford to pay their expenses, they will not become independent. Therefore, this may affect their personality and causes a lack of self-confidence. To sum up, undertaking a period of unpaid work for young adults has been suggested by some individuals. Although this has many positive impacts on the community and the youngsters, there are some negative effects too. This kind of work should be presented voluntarily and the government should encourage young people by doing some actions.