some children spend hours every day on their smart phones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, it has been seen that some children are using their phones more frequently and devoting most of their time to this piece of equipment. In this essay, I will outline underlying reasons contributing to this phenomenon as well as bring some examples providing it is a negative change among children. There are some potential causes leading to children spending hours on their phones. First of all, this apparatus provides a plethora of games for the children by which they can be entertained. To be more precise, youngsters find it as a leisure pursuit in which they immerse themselves in numerous appealing video games without considering their drawbacks. Secondly, it is due to the lack of parental supervision. More accurately, if the parents do not manage and restrict the time of using these technological devices, children will continue to indulge themselves in playing since they are not well-trained about the value of time yet. An increasing number of children are really addicted to their phones these days which will create some irreversible consequences in their life. The first and foremost drawback of excessive usage of phones by children is that it prevents them from other kinds of activities both recreational and educational ones. What I mean by the recreational factors is that because they are engaged in playing with their phones they will lose enthusiasm for outdoor activities and playing other types of games with their peers. As a result, after a while, they will experience isolation and will not become sociable. In terms of educational aspects, smartphones are becoming a device by which children cringe away from their studies and homework. In addition, spending hours on phones will threaten their physical and mental health, such as poor eyesight and depression. In a nutshell, there are plenty of measures causing children to use their phones for prolonged hours which I strongly believe that it is highly harmful for the young generation.