Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Several leaders of countries in the 21st century try to advance their economies for better lifestyles. However, others argue that there are some worrying outcomes related to the loss of essential values such as humanity and the environment. Concerning this issue, I believe that there are more benefits from the financial development of a country rather than other drawbacks. Admittedly, some disadvantageous consequences may occur, followed by the only focus on economic growth. Particularly, people forget their traditional values. For instance, in contrast to those in South Korea in the 80s, individuals in the same country these days lack their affairs and love toward their neighbours, which is defined as “Jeong” in Korea. Even though the small country achieved great advancement during this period, the elderly are concerned that the young no longer show this affection for their neighbours. I have met many old people who often feel worried that the country has become so egoistic. On the other hand, we can find more benefits stemming from economic development. First of all, people in financially stable countries are able to take care of themselves by having nutritious food and receiving regular medical care. It is also possible for most individuals to have fundamental education and to dream of their own future. To illustrate this, compared to the developed country, all walks of life in the developing country are only in pursuit of their precious meal, not their dreams as they have not developed stable economic or social systems. While building up for one’s own future, one can enjoy happiness and contentment, thus we can tell that it is important to achieve financial advancement. In sum, it is reasonable for the countries to pursue their better economic status since the consequences of it are advantageous enough. However, it is required that they be more careful not to lose their essential values and necessities.