n the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Nowadays, people do shopping as a hobby rather than for domestic purposes in the past. In my opinion, individuals prefer going out shopping to calm their minds and unburden themselves to get rid of daily routines. To begin with, in the past decades, there were not many options to buy in the market. However, due to the advancements in items and technology such internet, it is easier and also inexpensive to purchase a variety of products which pushes us to buy new things although we do not need them. Moreover, by the end of the 20th century, economic developments were relatively slow. Therefore, people had to save money and invest in education or immovable properties such as houses and landscapes. By contrast, today, being owned a house is not impossible because of the well-developed labour market for career opportunities and alternative methods for buying a flat by means of a mortgage which led us to spend more money. Furthermore, many think that going to shopping malls or buying unnecessary items is a type of leisure activity. In other words, spending money on clothes, shoes or food gives us joy in life and also helps to clear the mind. For example, If I feel stressed, I go to a local shopping centre to buy new clothes which makes me motivated and satisfied. In addition, people need to spoil themselves by going out to eat, dressing up or buying the latest technology smartphone, otherwise there is no point in being hard working and landing a good job. To conclude, although these days many prefer doing shopping regardless of our needs, shopping has an important value in our lives to calm our minds and have a sense of joy.