Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern day, many countries are prioritising boosting their economy, which is causing a greater debate in society since many people believe there are other kinds of progress needed focusing than just the economy. In my opinion, I am convinced by the latter idea for some reasons. On the one hand, the economy does play a crucial role in showing the potential of a nation. If a country has sufficient resources to build up a sustainable economy, it has a likelihood to draw the attention of various foreign businessmen which can help with the unemployment issues that every nation is facing in the modern era. To make it clearer, when many enterprises invest in a developing country, it creates more job opportunities for the unemployed. As a result, the crime rate will plummet once residents have their own jobs to make a living. On the other hand, apart from the economy, there are more improvements that need concerning such as education. According to many prestigious journals, the quality of graduates is getting worse compared with the previous decade since they created too many low-quality labourers attributed to the lack of jobs. Hence, In order to make more advanced specialists, the governments should allocate more budget to education because the bright future of a nation partly depends on young generations. In conclusion, focusing on the economy is an appropriate approach used to raise a nation’s value, however, it is just a narrow vision. Having looked at a wider view, if education is concerned well, the country’s potential will be limitless.