Today it is common to see a famous sportsperson advertising sports products. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is common practice among popular athletes to endorse sports goods. I believe it can bring more sales, and this advantage outweighs any potential disadvantages. One potential drawback of using popular sports celebrities for commercials is that it will cost a lot of money. This is due to the fact that they have an incredible reputation, increasing their negotiation power with advertisers. For example, one of the most famous badminton players in Indonesia has increased his brand dealership rate by 100% after winning an international championship. However, I believe this can be avoided by paying them a commission for each item sold rather than a large sum of money upfront; thus, the brand will not be burdened by the high cost of advertising. On the positive side, this approach can increase sales. In other words, consumers are frequently influenced by their idols, which makes them more likely to buy things recommended by them. For instance, the Nike Air Jordan, which is a collaborative basketball shoe by Nike and the legendary basketball Jordan, has generated more than 1 million dollars since it was first launched. This is likely to occur as Jordan is a top-key opinion leader in the basket industry; thereby, when he gives a recommendation for an item, his followers tend to follow and buy it. I think this is a major advantage for the enterprise since the growth of sales means more funds for expansion, research and development, and better product quality. In conclusion, given the rising trend of athletic stars suggesting merchandise that would result in high marketing costs, I believe this downside is greatly outweighed by the upside that this practice could enhance revenues, leading to business growth.