Some people think that students should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community Do you agree or disagree?

Demanding students to do voluntary work in their leisure time is a debatable issue. Volunteering is considered by many an efficient way for juveniles to help their neighborhoods without receiving monetary rewards for it. This essay will discuss why in my opinion this practice is both beneficial for local communities and a way for adolescents to educate themselves. First of all, more and more citizens nowadays are concerned because governments are incapable of providing local communities with sufficient funding, which results in a shortage of money to invest in these. For that reason, local authorities usually ask citizens to assist by any means. For example, people gather in public venues and cook for the homeless, or donate some of their belongings to help those in need. If students were obliged to provide their services to support the goal, everyone would have greater motives and will to help. It is true that the young have far more energy, and leisure time and are ready to take action if the appropriate guidance is provided. Speaking about how volunteering benefits people, especially the young, many arguments can be claimed. Firstly, participating in unpaid work helps those who desire to pursue a degree in higher education, in other words studying at a university. To give a clear example it is known that during the evaluation of resumes and letters of application, students who had participated in voluntary events are more likely to become accepted compared with those who had not. In addition, through their work juveniles will be taught principles and values, that will contribute to shaping their character and becoming better citizens who do not care only about accumulating wealth. Therefore, it is clear that participating is the best way to spend their free hours. In conclusion, many arguments exist on the issue of volunteering by adolescents. This essay provided reasons as to why this practice is beneficial for the local communities and the students themselves and for these it must be encouraged.