Space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things. What is your opinion?

It is a matter of fact that any scientific field requires a good amount of funding in order to develop. Space exploration, especially, is considered one of the most expensive fields. Yet, at first glance, it does not contribute to society as much as other fields do, which raises the question of whether it is worth the enormous amounts of money spent. In this essay, I will discuss why I believe that it is actually worth it. A first point that needs to be considered is that by examining the history of science, it becomes clear that many scientific discoveries were considered practically useless during the time period they happened. Their true value was proven later when inventors applied those discoveries in practical and life-changing ways. For instance, the experiments that proved how electricity works occurred several years before the invention of the lightbulb, so nobody could have predicted the connection between electricity and lighting right from the start. This is why we can never know how a discovery might affect society later. Furthermore, our planet is suffering extreme environmental damage. Scientists have already stated that it might become uninhabitable in just a few decades from today. Many suggest space exploration might be the solution. Recently, NASA discovered a planet that resembles Earth in many ways. This example gives hope that space emigration could be a last resort in case humanity fails to reverse the ongoing decline of living conditions here on Earth. Summing up, there is a possibility that exploring space might provide humanity with solutions in ways that might seem irrelevant to daily life now but could prove crucial for our species in the future. Therefore, I believe it is a vital field of science worth the large amounts of funding it gets.