In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantage of young people who decide to do this.

In the development of a person's character, working and travelling are undoubtedly significant key factors. This is the reason why in many countries students are encouraged to spend one year after their graduation, either exploring the world or finding a job, and then continue with their studies. This essay will examine the benefits and drawbacks that are associated with this break. First of all, the supporters of this one-year pause believe that it is essential for young people to spend some time for themselves, after twelve years of continuous, hard learning is one of the greatest advantages. In addition, these twelve months will be beneficial for those who are not ready to choose their future profession and do not have an aptitude for specific studies. If they choose to work or travel, they will spend more time for themselves and either they will be familiar with some places in the world or will learn the reality that they will face in the job market. These experiences will help them choose the most appropriate field of study, for,example one that relates to their occupation during the pause. On the contrary, some people argue that for students who delay getting into,university it is far more difficult to adjust to higher education after their break and that this is a big disadvantage for them. For instance, they may lose their interests and motives, find a mediocre job, which provides them with an adequate wage, or even becomes obsessed with travelling and falls behind with their education. Furthermore, it will be more challenging to compete with those who continued with their studies and have become more advanced. In conclusion, while encouraging the young to dedicate a year between high school and university to travelling or working is promoted by many countries, those who choose to follow this path should be extremely careful and enjoy it, without losing their focus on receiving higher education.