International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

The question of to what extent the pros of tourism outweigh the cons it generates in countries has started to be more popular currently, due to the increasing tendency of people of traveling each day more and more. In my view, albeit tourism brings some essential disadvantages related to the environment that must not be denied, it also brings solid benefits, especially for poor countries. I will underline my thoughts on this topic below. First of all, flights are well known for their capacity to pollute the environment. Nowadays, travelling by plane has become more popular than ever and as many studies have demonstrated the amount of greenhouse gases has started to increase because of that. For instance, according to a recent study conducted in Europe in the last year international flights go up 30% in comparison with the year before. Therefore, air pollution also increased by almost 5%. As we can see, taking aeroplanes have a really important effect on the emission of carbon dioxide. However, for some countries, especially those less developed with a pristine nature or culture, tourism has become a great source of income. For example, visitants generate jobs in places where many times governments have been unable to create them. Thus, inhabitants of those countries are allowed to work and generate money thanks to the people who spend money on tours to meet beautiful landscapes or magnificent constructions. To sum up, having said that tourism can make a big impact on air quality and the environment because of the flights' emissions, it is important to highlight the good impact visitants can make in poor countries by generating jobs and opportunities for those less well. In my opinion, if the negative environmental impacts tourism has can be reduced, it must be a great chance for poor countries to develop its economy.