Some people say watching TV is bad for children in all ways, others say it is good for children to get knowledge. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

The effect of TV on children has been a heated debate for decades now. Some people believe that watching it is bad for children while some say otherwise. I fundamentally agree that watching TV is good for children to get knowledge, albeit with some moderation required. This essay will discuss both views and why I came up with my opinion. First, it’s important to know that the tv is not the one that affects the kids per se. Rather, it’s the program in which they are watching. In reality, there are great shows that will teach them through fun storytelling. For example tv shows like Dora the explorer will help them learn Spanish and English, while The Magic school bus interestingly teaches science. Additionally, these will serve as immersion learning for them to develop important language skills. The wide array of topics in tv shows will broaden their horizon. As a result, they will get more general knowledge about the world. Hence, TV is good for children if the one they are watching is suitable for them. However, not all program is made with children in mind. There are also ones made for other age groups such as teenagers, adults, or even the elderly. Some shows with violence or inappropriate language would be a bad influence. As in late-night movies or daily news that cover crime stories. This could lead children to copy what they have seen and apply it in their real life. Therefore, their guardian needs to monitor and control what they can and cannot watch. In conclusion, watching TV have advantage and disadvantage. Although in this case, the advantage can only outshine the disadvantage through proper guidance from their parent or teacher.