Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is import for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that giving minors the opportunity to decide important matters such as what they want to wear or eat would make people only concerned about themselves. From my point of view, allowing them to choose these aspects could improve their intelligence. Some people think that children should obey everything their parents tell them since they always want what is best for them. One reason behind this could be that adults are aware of the threats and dangers out there. As juveniles are easily influenced by their surroundings, it is essential that the ones that are in charge of them, provide a safe environment. For example, surfing the internet for fun games could end up showing them advertisements for sex. Consequently, parental control on the internet should not be optional. On the contrary, permitting them to make their own choices, in my opinion, can have many advantages, such as being more creative. This could lead to a faster development of their brains and, perhaps, even being able to achieve higher academic grades due to lateral thinking. One example could be having the opportunity to dress one way or another may help them discover who they really are and, also, create their own personality. When it comes to food, giving them the freedom to choose which nourishment or diet they want to follow may also help them explore different flavours and cultures, enriching their knowledge. Weighing up both sides of the argument, I support the idea of giving children the chance to discover the world and who they are but always under adult supervision.