Housing shortages in big cities can cause severe social consequences.Some people think that only govenment action can solve this problem.To what extent do you agree or disagree

Devastating social issues can be elicited by the lack of housing in metropolises, and while some people argue that only governments can resolve the problem, I completely agree with this point of view because they can change their development methodology and increase housing in suburbs. On the one hand, a housing shortage can be caused by an unplanned increase in city population due to migration from the countryside.Many people have come to towns in order to have better life standards because several remote areas do not have better education, transportation, and other basic amenities. If the government changes the country's economic policy from centralized to decentralized, rural areas can be developed. More funds should be allocated to improve rural hospitals, schools, and roads, and large private companies should be encouraged to start businesses outside of cities. Migration can be significantly reduced as a result of the development of rural areas, and this is likely to be a long-term solution to housing shortages. On the other hand, governments can increase housing projects, particularly for low- and middle-income people. Most housing projects are carried out by companies, which are expensive and not affordable for the poor. As a result, government officials should actively participate in housing construction; at the very least, they should provide long-term loans for home purchases. Furthermore, many cities do not have enough space for new apartments, particularly in the city center, so the government should relocate new residential areas to the outskirts while also developing transportation and other facilities. For example, the Colombo municipal council decided to build homes for homeless people; however, they had to construct houses outside of the city center due to a lack of free space, and although the houses were far from the city center, new roads and railways had reduced the time of their commutes to the city center. In conclusion, as a result of the increase in population in cities, they have to face severe social issues due to the lack of housing in cities. I believe that the government can only provide solutions for this problem by changing its policy and engaging with housing projects