Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective way is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

Imprisonment has been exercised as the most prevalent method to wipe out vice in many countries, yet others would like to suggest education as a more effective and humane way to deal with such pressing issues. I personally disagree with the aforesaid suggestion. Fervent advocates of education may argue that education appears superior to custodial sentences, and that well-educated people are unlikely to commit serious crimes because of being exposed to educational values frequently through their stable upbringing. I, however, would opine the aforementioned point is flawed due to the fact that recent years have witnessed an increasing crime rate of intellect. To illustrate, in Vietnam, money laundering and corruption are two primary types of crime committed by highly-educated people; in fact, such education conversely plays a role in helping them cleverly exploit loopholes in legislation to achieve financial gains. Therefore, it seems to me that imprisonment is still a more efficacious solution to controlling illegalities due to the reasons outlined below. Firstly, incarceration may act as a deterrent to other would-be offenders. In other words, once knowing that being caught and condemned to jail is synonymous with the loss of freedom and a miserable life in prison, for example, in cases where convicts are not allowed to visit their dying member, those with criminal intentions may be afraid of going down the criminal paths. Secondly, prison sentences could also be regarded as the optimal way to rehabilitate offenders. In fact, when serving prison terms, criminals may be given a chance to cultivate new skills through many vocational training courses, which they can rely on as their future livelihood after being released. By the same token, they, simultaneously, can gain a deeper insight into correct moral behaviour, and such ethical values would ascertain them being upright citizens when reintegrating back into society. Apparently, provided that a stable life is being ensured and moral rectitude is being instilled, crime figures would be on the decrease soon. Lastly, when custodial sentences are severely executed, most of the dangerous criminals would be captured, leading to heinous crimes committed by well-armed gangs such as terror, vandalism or human trafficking being potentially deterred accordingly. In conclusion, holding the belief that education would conversely lay the foundation for latent risks of criminals, I would opine prison sentences are by far a more effective way to alleviate crime issues.