Nowadays a large amount of advertising aimed at children should be banned because of the negative effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A significant portion of marketing which is targeted younger consumers is urged to be prohibited because it may consist of undesirable consequences for adolescents. I am in full agreement with this view that suggests more restrictions on ads for children. I can see why some people feel that advertisements should not have any boundaries and limitations. From the economic point of view, adverts are vital to the survival of most economic sectors as it aids them with profit-making and growth. Some of these markets are only attractive to the junior part of society and their pressure on their parents is the key factor for the market’s sales whereas,without youngsters’ push, these purchases would not be made. The Toy industry is a clear manifestation of this as the whole business is only circulating around youngsters’ appeal of a product which mostly generates by ads they see in their television programs. Therefore, any limitation or prohibition on these advertisements can have a devastating impact on the industry and the economy as a whole. I, however, feel that adverts can manipulate children into wanting things about which they are not knowledgeable. Youngsters are unable to differentiate reality and advertisement, so they can be easily influenced by adverts which at best highlight only the top qualities of the product without mentioning any drawbacks. A huge fraction of marketing tailored to youngsters, for example, is comprised of sugary drinks, sugary cereals and candy, thereby, more children are now prone to obesity and diabetes than ever before. Ads can deceive adolescents who are yet to learn to not believe whatever they see on television. We can also consider that an advertisement’s main purpose is to increase the sale of a particular product or to raise brand awareness, and in doing so they do not often consider any damages they may cause. History showed us multiple incidents in which the marketing industry, insisting on yielding results, recklessly or even deliberately promotes brands and merchants which later proved to have negative impacts on individuals the society. As a case in point, these agencies notoriously promoted commodities like tobacco, cigarette and alcohol in prime-time television, resulting in a spike in the consumption of these damaging materials at a time when scientists are explicitly announcing their dangerous effects. Advertising companies are designed so that they could yield the highest result regardless of their actions’ consequences on society. In conclusion, regardless of how some might feel, I am convinced that because of the somewhat destructive outcome of adverts aimed at children, they have to be restricted or banned.