Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money should be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Subsidizing the arts by the government is an undoubtedly debatable issue. Many consider the amount of money that is given to support artists and culture in general as waste, and support that funding other sectors is more beneficial for society. Personally, I do not agree with this opinion, so this essay will provide reasons why they need to be funded. First of all, the arts are interwoven with a nation's identity and the most efficient way to preserve its cultural and historic inheritance. For example, people turn constantly their attention to pieces of art, like artefacts, paintings, sculptures and even novels and movies, to learn more about their civilization and its evolution. A plethora of these pieces date back to previous centuries and has historic importance however, modern art is also essential and a source of knowledge. Therefore, artists should be supported for their work, and receive grants and benefits to continue creating and presenting the most valuable features of their countries. Furthermore, a common phenomenon is to consider professionals, who are occupied in sectors like education or health, as the most important members of society, so they are the only ones who deserve to be subsidised by the state. Although their work is essential, the public should always remember that artists usually are underpaid and struggle for many years to become well-known, if they ever become. For instance, most of them do not receive a monthly income and they are criticized for their work more than anyone. If the government do not give benefits to them, or grants to back upcoming art projects, it is likely that they will find other jobs, and stop creating art. In conclusion, many support that when the state supports the arts financially, massive amounts of money are wasted. I am strongly opposed to this point of view, and this essay examined the reasons why funding the arts is a vital need to give prominence to a civilization.