Essay topics: Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However,other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is said that keeping animals in zoos is a disturbance to their freedom and natural behaviour, whereas others believe these places help to protect endangered species. This essay will argue the debate and give a concluding view. Many people cannot visit jungles to see the wild animals in their natural living spaces and wildlife parks provide the chance to see them. However, most zoological gardens keep the animals in a cage which limits their mobility range and natural behaviour. Furthermore, zoo keepers and designers cannot provide a space which is identical to the natural habitat of the animals. As well as, animals do not have the opportunity to hunt for their meal, which leads to disabling their natural instincts and hunting abilities. Moreover, many species show signs of depression and malnutrition. However, modern zoo designs and plans try to maximize the opportunities for animals to live in a similar environment in open zoological parks. On the other hand, zoo helps to protect endangered species and promote their growth. For instance, in China, there are special centres to keep the giant pandas where they promote awareness about the animal. Furthermore, these animal sanctuaries help to keep them safe from their natural predators and increase their reproduction rates to promote their growth. As well as, due to deforestation some rare species have lost their natural food sources and zoological gardens help to give them food security. In conclusion, the concept of zoos has changed over the past years and people and zoologists try to maintain a better environment for animals that both the spectators and animals can themselves enjoy. In my opinion, though zoos are considered to be cruel to animals, it helps to protect some endangered species.