Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

There is no doubt in saying that large shopping centres have somehow overtaken the business of small, local shops in their respective local markets. Not only local communities are being negatively affected due inefficiency of the local market to stay in competition with major shopping centres but it is disadvantageous for the income generation of vendors involved in this business. According to my perception, for the benefit of local shops and,communities it is essential to improvise the quality of goods, and other items which are being sold by the local vendors to engage customer retention. It is quite obvious that the shutdown of the local and small department stores has created quite a hassle for localities, as just to buy daily necessities like dairy products, fruits and vegetables or bakery items one has to go to a supermarket which is usually not in the nearby vicinity of the locality. Also, such items are usually perishable in nature due to expiry dates so can not be stored as well. At the same,time local outlets are most often owned by people living in a particular area and emerging large flea markets are highly affecting the livelihood of such shop owners. For example, supermarket chains like Reliance fresh or Big bazaar are taking away the customer base of neighbourhood stores and certainly creating a huge loss for their business. Thus, society and local businesses both are affected negatively. I believe, sustaining the local markets needs to be supported by the government authorities by initiating the policy of subsidizing the basic daily use commodities. Of course, imposing such measures will assuredly discourage bigger mart from having a monopoly by using their own price tags and discounts. This is going to provide a lucrative opportunity for local vendors to be in the trade and expand the customer base simultaneously. Thus, chances of elimination of small shops by large markets will be a less likely situation to face. To conclude, although the growing popularity of shopping centre cannot be denied due to the distinctive features that it provides, however, the local outlet is still essential for society.