In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, the number of people who buy printed books or journals has been decreasing. Some people claim that people will be able to read whatever they want using online platforms without any charge. In my view, I agree with this statement for the following reasons. Firstly, reading an article or a book by using electronic devices is more convenient than reading a hard copy. Electronic devices such as laptops and tablets weigh less than some university textbooks so we can carry a single device instead of wearing heavy backpacks. In addition, studies carried out by several universities indicate that students often prefer reading electronic books rather than printed ones. Specifically, it is easier to highlight some crucial words and search specific topics in electronic books, that are available online without paying. Secondly, the public, especially students, cannot afford scientific journals or books that are highly priced. To be aware of recent scientific advances and gain knowledge, we should constantly read from reliable as well as international sources. Online mediums and websites that contain free books and articles give the opportunity to accelerate students ’ academic achievements. If there were no online websites that provide free books or journals, students will face some financial problems and they will not be willing to study hard. To conclude, although there are some detrimental effects of reading online without paying, due to the convenience and financial benefits to students I agree that sales of printed books or newspapers will be minimalized in the future.