People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

A common trend of change in sleeping patterns among people is quite noticeable these days in comparison to a few years ago. In my,opinion the sleep cycle is disturbed due to ever emerging use of various social media and online platforms. Perhaps individuals use internet platforms for their entertainment purpose but sure it does have a negative impact on everyone. A common reason for sleeping less than ever before is the overutilization of online media. Popular features like different series on Netflix or Amazon Prime and vlogs or reels on Instagram or Facebook keep the viewer engaged for countless hours. The content on OTT platforms as well as live chatting options of social media platforms is fascinating for everyone. Even after a hectic schedule of the whole,day people want to be online, which is surely not compromised by any. And such popular means of engagement were not there in the past time due to a lack of technological development. However, now humans are habitual of online entertainment and interaction even after not getting desired sleep. A definite impact of being sleep-deprived can be observed among individuals. Surely sleep deprivation is a serious health implication and one can face issues like anxiety, stress, migraine, and weight loss for not getting the required sleep. Other physiological and behavioural changes like mood swings, and not being able to focus can also be faced. This can portray a negative attitude towards other people sometimes, causing misunderstanding. Certainly sleeping for a minimum of 7 hours is a natural phenomenon for all human beings to relax the body muscles and brain to regain energy and not doing so is going against the body mechanism. Thus, lack of sleep issues is more likely to have pretty obvious effects on individuals and society. To conclude, the sleep cycle is different for everyone according to their respective routine, though less due to any specified reason either over utilizing social media or being nocturnal is surely not good for health.