Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities. What is the cause of this? What can be done?

The choice of action by person has always been a debatable issue; however few common studies have distinguished the difference between suitable and inappropriate exercise that should be done by the community. The modern world often influences everyone to adapt to activities which have ill effects on health, but somehow activities like utilization of the internet and social media are irresistible. I believe making a wise choice and having self-control over a strict routine might change the ever-growing trend of choosing unhealthy actions. According to my view, the wide variety of choices available on the internet through social media, OTT platforms and YouTube channels has made a huge shift in the common choice of activities among masses over healthy and creative activities like exercising or painting etc. Everyone wants to feel relaxed and entertained during their leisure hours. The Internet not only provides various genres to watch movies and videos but also provides online chatting apps to engage users for a couple of hours. Of,course individuals who sit in one place for long hours in the same posture gazing at the screen of their devices tend to forget the side effects of getting obese as well as blurred vision. Thus, attractive features of the internet compel individuals to opt for unhealthy activities even after knowing the drawbacks. A quick solution to encourage people to choose healthy and productive activities would be to spread awareness for the benefits of adopting outdoor activities like playing sports, exercising or meditating. There is definitely a balance between mental and physical health can be maintained as one will feel more energetic through different body movements and at the same time one tends to forget all anxiety and stress issues. A different environment of parks and sports centres brings changes to the mood and surrounding which definitely makes the activities more interesting. In,fact adopting productive activities will involve interaction with other like-minded individuals simultaneously greater number of the population will be more likely to choose healthy alternate activities. To conclude, individual choices for activities can not be obligated under any given circumstances, though it is essential to choose healthy activities to stay away from any kind of drawbacks.