Task 2 Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is identified that the high level of sugar in processed foods and bottled drink products causes non-infectious diseases and several other health problems. Some believe, however, that by increasing the price of these foods, we will see a detrimental effect on consumption. I disagree with this argument because the solution itself is not enough to solve the problem. First, high sugar levels are just one of several factors that cause health problems. The entire blame cannot be placed on such products alone. Furthermore, preservatives, additives, salt, and excessive carbohydrate intake are the main causes of obesity, high blood pressure and several other diseases. As well, many people live a sedentary life where their physical activity remains low and unhealthy. Therefore, sugar is not the only problem, but nobody can ban food products forever, so people will lose their food choices. Since there are so many products it is impractical to ban each and every product. Governments and regulatory bodies can limit sugar levels by introducing rules and regulations and monitoring them regularly to identify unhealthy products. Governments often request that sellers indicate sugar levels on their product packaging so that consumers can identify which products are unsuitable for their needs. On the other hand, some people still purchase the products, regardless of the high prices, and this will not be a solution to get people to consume less sugar. Furthermore, people will continue to consider it a luxury item with a high price, so they will be tempted to consume them, and the problem will remain unresolved. To conclude, increasing the price of sugary products is not enough to lead to a healthier nation in which many people live inactive lifestyles.