Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A lot of food and beverages in the market have high amounts of sugar which lead to most diseases in humans. Some say, if these products become highly cost, consumers will become fewer. This essay agrees with this statement because it will cause benefits to health and vast development in the country. By reducing sugar intake, people can take advantage of a healthy life and grow old without complications. Most noncommunicable ailments like diabetes, occur due to the higher consumption of sweets. So if the government takes action to increase the tax for these, then more men and women in society cannot afford it due to the level-up price. For example, in Sri Lanka, nowadays people do not tend to buy junk food and drinks because of the big budget they cost. On the other hand, applying to add taxes for these items, facilitates the administration of the state. Because the major amount of funds that are used to manage non-communicable diseases can be transferred to the development of the country. It will lead to a prosperous nation that can benefit from every facility they need. For instance, National Health Ministry in Sri Lanka spent billions of dollars on health services annually. If we can cut it somehow, it will affect us positively. In conclusion, food and drink products that have big amounts of sucrose should be priced higher because it will make human beings healthy and aid in developing the state.