Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is undeniable that children spend hours on their smartphones instead of playing with other children or doing homework. This essay will discuss the reason for spending too much time on smartphones and I believe that there are more negative developments than positive trends. To begin with, electronic devices are becoming cheaper and more convenient for children to communicate with their parents when they are outside. In other words, all parents are affordable to buy a smartphone for their offspring as it is affordable prices, even some children might have two phones. In addition, all attractive applications such as games or YouTube persuaded children to spend a lot of time using phones and even they might not notice how they waste their time for the whole day. For example, children spend the whole weekend playing games or watching YouTube videos without doing their daily routines. However, children can learn some skills using mobile phones like learning languages or other things that they want to learn. Although there are merits in using hand pone if children can use them effectively for their education, there are negative developments as most youths used their phones in order to play video games or use social media. For instance, youngsters are addicted to playing games and they are unable to concentrate on their studies as they want to become gamers or heroes in their games. To sum up,in spite of the fact that children are using smartphones as it makes them convenient communicate in their daily routines and supports their studies if they can use them in the correct way, there are more negative developments because of addicting games and spending hours on phones without emphasising important things for their life. Given these situations, it is a negative improvement for children.