Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many people these days are exposed to a number of processed foods and beverages which include inordinate levels of sugar and this could lead to various health issues. However, I do not think increasing the prices of sugary goods is an appropriate method to resolve the problem. First of all, consumers are going to buy whatever they want while not considering its cost. This is a fact that has already been proven. According to the news from KBS, even though the government executed the policy of raising the price of cigarettes, they had an unanticipated result; cigarettes were kept sold by smokers. With this example, I claim that there is no remarkable consequence to discourage people from buying sugar-packed products whether they are expensive or not. Moreover, there are plenty of alternative ways to encourage consumers to reduce sugary goods. For instance, the government could put a limitation on standards of sugar in firms, so that they pay attention not to exceed the quantity of sugar. Furthermore, encouraging consumers to exercise more can also be one of the measures. For example, participating in a range of challenges which require you to move. Not only can this prevent people from wasting their budget, but it can also solve health problems. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement. For one thing, people will not care about the cost of sugar-sweetened products. For another, there are many different means to fix healthy issues like making a policy for companies and encouraging consumers to work out.