Some people believe that global warming is today’s most pressing environmental problem. At the same time, some consider deforestation to have the most devastating impact on the world. Discuss both views and give your opinion on the same. You should write at least 250 words for this task.

With the dawn of industrialisation and urbanisation, our environment has changed drastically, and mostly for the worst. After witnessing the utter chaos on a global scale brought to life by alarming consequences of climate change like ozone layer depletion, forest fires, and global warming, people have narrowed down the causes to two very serious environmental problems: global warming and deforestation. The question of which one has a more severe impact on our world has been the topic of discussion in recent decades. Global warming has given rise to a myriad of issues like rising temperature and worsening air and water quality, which have long-lasting ramifications for this planet’s inhabitants. For instance, surging sea levels in cities situated on river banks have been a piece of alarming news that has prompted various governments to act on it. Additionally, the state of coral reefs in parts of Australia and other countries has also gained global attention. Overall, the consequences of global warming are threatening the wide gamut of species existing on our planet. Deforestation has also caused a multitude of environmental issues like frequent flooding due to the soil going loose owing to a depleting forest cover, loss of indigenous species, droughts, and more. A good example of this is the rising levels of pollution in overly industrialised countries which is a direct implication of fewer forests. Conclusively, it is impossible to pick one out of the two – deforestation and global warming – and to claim it as the more serious problem because both have worked in tandem to increase environmental concerns. Therefore, we have to direct our efforts in the direction that curbs the effect of both issues equally and significantly if we don’t want to find ourselves on the brink of extinction in the near future.