many governments think that economic progress is the most important goal. some poeple, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In this competitive world, the financial situation of a country plays a pivotal role in its foreign policy as well as its domestic affairs. Therefore, Many governments around the world keep thriving for economic strength, but some believe that there are other domains as well where a country ought to focus equally. In this essay, I will examine both views and will explain why I feel that economic growth and focus on human development and infrastructure should go hand in hand. In the modern era, the strength of a nation is measured by its foreign reserves and GDP(growth domestic product) of a country. The higher a country's GDP and foreign reserves the less the chances of interference in its domestic affairs. Given the strong financial status of a state, it has more influence on international bodies and developing economies to pass resolutions in the favor of its nation and its people. G20 (Great 20) and G7(Great 7) economies, for instance, have immense control over the UNO (United Nations Organisation) policymaking. The emerging countries as well are compelled to align with the interests of wealthy countries due to the dependencies of their economies on foreign aid. Thus, the economically stronger nation has more opportunities on international forums and also on its internal matters. On the other hand, the foundation of a state is its people. If a state's only preference is wealth accumulation but not its people, the state might not sustain itself for long. People are the main source of prosperity and well-being of any country, so investing in human development such as education, health, and sanitation has far-reaching impacts. More funding on areas like education and good health in return helps to progress the country by leaps and bounds in all areas. Take Canada as an example. While Canada is a welfare state, it is also part of G20 countries, the progress of Canada is amazing be it on technological fronts or the agricultural industry. Clearly, a nation which cares for its citizens' well-being, people there reciprocate it through their loyalty and hardworking. In conclusion, undoubtedly, the wealthy nation has more sense of security and fulfilment. The spending of wealth on health care and literacy has positive knock-on effects in the long run.