It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Childhood is one of the most important growth stages in life. Learning the difference between wrong and right in this stage is crucial, and punishing is necessary for this. I personally agree with this viewpoint. On the one hand, there are some reasons why some people think that punishment is not a good way. First and foremost is that children ’s behaviour can be changed over the years. By this I mean, when children are growing up, their friends or society has significant effects on their personality or behaviour. For example, a child who is a pupil even if was trained about wrong and right might ignore them because of his surrounding that is filled by some students who did not learn this distinction. However, the early age is the best learning period in children ’s lives. In other words, in this period the brain and personalities of children are being shaped, and children are impressed by their parents or teachers. It is reasonable that parents and teachers should be allowed physical and nonphysical punishment, but it is important to consider this tool at the correct time and way because misused punishment might foster children to continue wrong activities. For instance, if a child who was tempted by his friends and commits theft, his parent can punish him by cutting his friendship with that friend at that time. To sum up, in my opinion, there are some reasons why learning the difference between wrong and right at an early age is important. The reason such as brain and personality shaping in childhood is one of the prominent causes. Using various punishments in this way can be allowed by parents and trainers, but it should use at the right time.