A lot of young people do not know how to manage their money when graduating from high school. What do you think are the reasons? What can be done to teach them this important skill

Finance management is an essential life skill that needs to be learnt and practised, yet it is not well handled by most youngsters of current times because of insufficient education about money management. In this essay, reasons for poor money handling by young adults will be discussed, along with suggestions to tackle this problem. The reasons for one's inability to manage money are manifold. The most preponderant reason is not having enough experience to deal with real money. In other words, fresh graduates, although, might have learnt about dealing with cash in real-life situations, they, however, may not have enough practice to spend money wisely. For instance, a fresh graduate of high school, who has started a part-time job, spends all his hard-earned income on gaming because he has not learnt to allocate finances for various purposes. Besides, the digital payment systems of the modern world also hinder some people's ability to track finances, as they can not physically see the money being spent. Certainly, financial management education would help people keep an account of their spending and savings. This education can be provided as a mandatory subject in high schools so that students are confident to manage their finances when they transition into the next part of their life. The government could also run educational programs at workplaces to educate all people about debits, credits, and savings. Thus, a targeted program to teach this important life skill can save people from becoming defaulted on their financial obligations. In conclusion, as discussed above, there are some reasons why people struggle to manage finances; however, attending educational programs can absolutely negate the effects of poor money handling.